back on the mat - a leave of absense

Losing myself to find myself – a confessional

Dear wordpress…I have a confession….it’s been 75 days since my last post…. Wow, how did that happen? I haven’t sat down and written a blog post in forever. I didn’t necessarily not have the time, I believe you can always find time for the things you love…it’s just I didn’t feel motivated to, I had […]

Equaminity, yoga, ashtanga. practice, equal

Everything becomes equal

“You should not be practicing to have a ‘good’ practice, but instead to keep steadiness within yourself. Practice happily regardless of whether it is ‘good’ or not. Sometimes some postures will not be possible, but when you accept the good and the bad and everything becomes equal for you, that is yoga.” – Sharath Jois, […]

aparigraha, yamas, niyamas, eight limbs, patanjali, ashtanga, yoga

Aparigraha – let that shit go…..

Yep, last and by no means least of the Yama’s (First Limb of Yoga) is Aparigraha, or non-attachment. The art of letting shit go!     The sutras state that: ‘When one is steadfast in non-possessiveness or non-grasping with the senses (aparigraha), there arises knowledge of the why and wherefore of past and future incarnations. […]

Brahmacharya, eight limbs, yamas, niyamas, ashtanga, yoga

Brahmacarya – self restraint

Brahmacarya is often described as celibacy – that by being celibate the practitioner is saving their prana (energy) or ‘virya’ (strength, power). The sutras do explain it as this, but also that sex should be moderate, in a ‘marital’ relationship, with only one partner. In Hinduism it is said that this is the first stage […]

8 Step Guide to Stop Your Self Loathing

So I got this comment on my blog after my last post ‘Asteya’ and it really upset me – one of the reasons it hit me hard was that I could TOTALLY relate to what the reader was saying, and I know that many others of you also do, or know someone who, feels this […]

Asteya – giving, not taking

Asteya is our third Yama, this literally means ‘non-stealing; and again it can be taken literally, of course we should not steal – it’s bad. But looking a little deeper into the meaning of the Yama, as by now you hopefully realise we must do, what do we ‘steal’ that is not ours to take […]

Satya, Yamas and Niyamas, Eighfold Path, Ashtanga, Yoga

Satya – is being truthful

The second YAMA from the eight limbs of yoga is Satya – truthfulness When we were growing up our parents taught us Satya, to be truthful and not to lie, or deceive. So why do we deceive? When we know it’s fundamentally wrong why do we do it? Being truthful is just a polite way […]

Ahimsa, Yama, Niyama, Eight Limbs, yoga, Ashtanga, relax, chill, be kind

Ahimsa – a what’s a?

Ahimsa – or ‘non violence’ is the first of the Yamas, the moral guidelines that are part of the first limb of the eightfold path. Non – violence is obvious, we don’t want to lead our lives being violent, or using violence as a way to get what we want. As set out in the […]

Yin class with Claire Yates, Yin Yoga, Yoga Teacher


Breathe In, Breathe Out, and Let it All Go All the rushing around we do in our busy lives (why ARE our lives so busy?) all the vinyasas, chattarangas, arm balances or eka padas we do in our ‘yang’ physically active yoga classes, isn’t it nice just to let yourself relax and slow down a […]

The Eightfold Path – what Ashtanga yoga is REALLY about

Pattabhi Jois said: “Ashtanga is a breathing practice, the rest is just bending” Every day my understanding of Yoga, specifically Ashtanga Yoga, deepens. Every day I realise that the physical asana mean less than the spiritual path, but you can’t have one without the other! I have been writing a manual for the retreat I […]